Rangers’ Adam Fox wins Norris Trophy as NHL’s top defenseman

Adam Fox becames the first Rangers' defenseman to win the Norris Trophy since Brian Leetch in 1996-97.

The Rangers’ have their first Norris Trophy winner in over two decades.

Adam Fox was named the NHL’s top defenseman, as voted by the media, the league announced Tuesday.

Fox is the first Ranger to win the award since Brian Leetch in 1997, and the fourth overall. Leetch won the award twice.

Rangers star Adam Fox
Getty Images

The 23-year-old Fox led all NHL defensemen with 42 assists and finished with 47 points in 55 games games, his puck-moving ability reminiscent of the Hall of Famer Leetch.

Fox also averaged 24:42 a night and blocked 102 blocked shots as the Rangers’ top defenseman.

He joins Bobby Orr as the only players to win the Norris Trophy in their second NHL season.

The other finalists for the award were Victor Hedman (Lightning) and Cale Makar (Avalanche), who edged out Fox for Rookie of the Year in 2020.

This story originally appeared on: NyPost - Author:David Lazar

Follow us on Google News